Tags

, ,

Last weekend I decided to finally use my new muffin baking form. Having planned a cake for dessert, I opted for a savoury recipe found on this blog. You can serve these hot or cold, either way they taste really good.


Dry ingredients:

250 g white flour

3 tsp baking soda

1 onion

150 g ham

100 g of cheese (used a pizza mix from my local shop)

Salt to taste

Optional extras of your choice (mild paprika spice and a green pepper in my case)

Wet ingredients:

1 egg

10 tbsp oil

150 ml butter milk (in my opinion not enough so I added around 250-300 ml)

Preparation:

Cut the onion (fine) and fry it with a spoon of butter until translucent. Leave aside to cool down. Grate the cheese (unless it has been done already of course), cut the ham into little pieces. Whisk it all together with the cooked onion, add flour, baking soda and spices.

In another bowl whisk together all the wet ingredients.

Pour the wet ingredients into the bowl with dry ingredients and stir shortly just to mix everything together (stirring it for too long will make the muffins too hard).

Divide prepared batter evenly among the muffin cups. You can sprinkle the top with a diced chive/spring onion.

Bake 25-30 minutes in a pre-heated oven (180 Celcius)

