Tags

, , , , ,

Originally these buns were supposed to be with creme cheese and raisins but male part of my family prefers apple over cheese so I had to compromise. Most of the dough was used to make the apple ones but I prepared some for me and my mom with cheese too. I set the dough to rise overnight in the fridge so enjoyed warm product with my morning coffee :). My recipe comes from here. Enjoy!


Ingredients (make about 12-15 buns):

80 g sugar

1 tsp salt

70 g soft butter

1 large beaten egg

450 g flour

2 tsp dry yeast or 16 g fresh

1 1/8 cup milk or butter milk, room temperature

For filling:

150 g cream cheese or ricotta

2 tbsp honey

2-3 tbsp vanilla sugar

handful of raisins

Mix the cheese, honey and sugar. Add raisins, stir just a little. Leave aside.

or

1 kg apples

cinnamon

sugar (amount depends on the apples)

Peel the apples, cut in small pieces. Place in the pot, add sugar, cinnamon and boil on the medium heat (keep the lid on). Stir from time to time. Apples are ready when they break apart easily.

Crumble:

100 g flour

50 g sugar

50 g butter

 

Place the flour and sugar in a large bowl and mix well. Rub butter into the flour mixture. Keep rubbing till the mixture resembles breadcrumbs

The dough preparation:

All the ingredients mix in the bowl till they form smooth, elastic dough (it might be a bit sticky). Sprinkle with the flour and set aside to rise (double the size).

After that time knead the dough again. Roll into a rectangle (30 x 35 cm). Spread the filling and follow this scheme to get the desired shape. Put all 12 pieces in the tray and set aside for another 60 minutes. Sprinkle with crumble or sugar.

Bake at 190ºC around 20-30 minutes.

Additional info:

I prepared part of my dough the way as I did with yeast buns with custard and the other similarly to the ones with blue berries and mascarpone.

