Tags

When I saw them for the first time I went “ewwww!”. Although after looking into this recipe I was convinced that I need to prepare these for my work colleagues for Halloween and check which one will be brave enough to eat them. Even though they look awful, they are delicious. Their taste reminds me of a shortbread. Have fun!


Ingredients (make about 50-60 pieces):

225 g soft butter

¾ cup icing sugar

1 egg

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 tsp almond extract (I skipped this one)

2 2/3 cup flour

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp salt

¾ cup blanched almonds

Mix all ingredients (minus almonds) and knead the dough. Cover it with a cling film and refrigerate 30 minutes.  Form the fingers (they should be thinner than yours, they will get bigger in the oven) and push the almond in one of the ends (I divided mine in twos lengthwise to make them thinner).

Bake around 10 minutes at 200°C. Let them cool down.

Additional info: to make them look even creepier you may use pumpkin seeds instead of almonds, glue the “nails” with red jam or use some raisins or candied orange skin to pretend skin problems 😉

