Tags

,

I would never suspect that I will like this tart so much. I am mostly the fruity tart type and this was a big surprise. It’s sweet and moist. Simply delicious! I was looking for the recipe using a lot of egg yolks because of left over ones from mini Pavlova’s. This was a wonderful choice. My guru was right, it’s by far one of the best tarts I’ve tried! Enjoy!

Ingredients for the base:

185 g flour

50 g caster sugar

125 g cold butter

1 egg yolk

1 tsp cold water

Knead the ingredients together, cover with cling film and refrigerate for 30 minutes.

Use the dough to line a greased 24 cm form (you can also roll it out and then line the form). Poke it with a fork, cover with baking paper and fill with baking beans. Bake in a preheated oven at 180ºC around 15 minutes. Remove the paper and bake it for another 5 minutes (should get slightly brown).

Ingredients for the pecan filling:

2 cups prebaked pecans (240 g)

6 egg yolks

½ cup golden syrup (175 g)

100 g brown sugar

90 g melted butter

¼ cup full cream (60 ml)

Mix all of the ingredients (omit the nuts).

Place the pecans on the prebaked base, pour the sweet mix on them.

Bake at 180ºC for 30 minutes. Cool down.

Serve it with golden syrup, full cream or as desired.

Additonal info:  Pecans can be substituted with walnuts.

I had a bit of a problem with taking the tart out of the form (normal tart form). I would suggest to either use a form with removable bottom or line the form with baking paper.

