Tags

, , ,

Another Sunday, another pancake.  Apparently the name “Dutch baby” was introduced by a daughter of Victor Manca, which was the owner of a family-run restaurant.  The “Dutch” refers to the group of Pennsylvania Dutch, where “Dutch” was meant as “deutsch”. I must say I really love this recipe because spending time by the hot pan and flipping the pancakes is not my favourite task. The taste of this pancake is great, the center of it is almost custard-like. Sprinkled with a little lemon juice and icing sugar makes a perfect dish. I took my recipe from here, enjoy!

Ingredients:

4 eggs (I used 3)
1 cup milk
2/3 cup flour
6 tbsp butter, divided
3 tbsp sugar
1/2 tsp vanilla
1 apple or pear, peeled, cored and thinly sliced (I used pear)
few tbsp lemon juice
2 tbsp icing sugar

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.

Peel, core and thinly slice one apple (or pear) and set it aside.

Add the eggs, milk, flour, 4 tablespoons melted butter, sugar and vanilla to a blender(or use a hand mixer). Mix well.

Melt the remaining two tablespoons of butter in a heavy, cast iron skillet over medium-high heat (or melt it in the microwave in a cup or bowl). Add the apple slices and stir to coat them with the butter.

Pour in the batter and transfer the skillet (I used baking form) immediately to a preheated oven (you do not need to stir the batter).

Bake for 35 minutes or until the edges have puffed up and are golden brown.

