Tags

, , ,

I did not know how to call this cake and finally decided on childhood one. That’s due to the fact that my mother used to make it often when I was a little girl. I remember how much fun I had with separating the layers and eating them in the yummy order: first the biscuit, then the jelly and the (best in the end) cream. I like the biscuit recipe for this cake. You actually have to drop it on the floor after you bake it. Funny, isn’t it? Enjoy!

Biscuit ingredients:

(I made it in 24 cm cake tin and divided in half because I wanted a short one, originally the recipe is for a 20 cm form)

5 eggs (I took 3)

3/4 cup sugar (took 1/2)

3/4 cup flour (took 1/2)

1/4 cup cornstarch (took 1/8th)

Separate egg yolks from egg whites and  beat the white until stiff. Add sugar, then egg yolks, one by one. Mix the flours and gently fold them in the batter.

20 cm (24 cm) form line with baking paper (the bottom only) and pour the batter into it. Bake at 160-170°C around 30-40 minutes (till toothpick inserted in the middle come out dry).

Take the hot biscuit out of the oven and drop it on the floor (covered with a kitchen towel or blanket) from 60 cm height (you can do it twice also). After that place it back in the opened oven and let it cool. Original biscuit you can cut in 3-4 layers but I used less ingredients so I did not have to do it. Separate sides of biscuit from the form only when it is completely cooled.

Vanilla cream ingredients (from this recipe but less):

1 1/2 cup milk

1/2 cup sugar

60 g butter

8 g vanilla sugar

2 1/2 tbsp flour

3 tbsp cornstarch

Boil 1 cup of milk with sugars and butter. The remaining milk mix with eggs and flour and then add to boiling milk. Boil 1-2 minutes, mixing vigourously to avoid forming lumps (if they form anyway, you can use a stab mixer to remove them).

Pour onto cooled biscuit and set aside.

Cut strawberries in slices and arrange them on the cream. Prepare one 1/2 l strawberry jelly and cool it down. Before it settles down completely (you need to check it often to avoid throwing actual “solid” jelly on the cake) pour it onto the prepared 2 layers and strawberries.

Cool down until the jelly settles.

Additional info: Do not pour hot jelly onto the cake. I did that the first time and it all leaked out of the form. This is also why my biscuit base is a bit pink 😉

