Tags

,

I really like cornets similar to those from my local supermarket. I was looking for metal cones to make them for a while and then last week I spotted them in one of the shops. Full of energy I managed to make 6 and realized I cannot take them off the metal cones ;). Sigh. Of course I had to make them again but this time cones were coated with butter and flour. They turned out perfect and I could enjoy them with my coffee.

For 6 cones you will need:

1 piece of puff pastry, 40 cm length and 12-18 cm width cut into 2-3 cm stripes (lengthwise)

1 egg white

sugar

Proceed as shown on the pictures below (remember to coat the cones with butter and flour!):

Brush with the egg white and sprinkle with sugar. Preheat the oven to 200°C, place the cornets inside and bake around 12 minutes.

Let them cool down and take them off the metal cones.

Vanilla cream ingredients (original recipe here):

300 ml milk

1 tsp vanilla extract

3 egg yolks

50 g sugar

20 g flour

20 g cornstarch

optionally:

10 ml liquoir (Brandy, Kirsch, Grand Marnier)

100 ml full cream

Boil milk with vanilla and set aside.

Beat egg yolks with sugar till whitish, add mixed flours and mix till smooth.

Pour the egg paste into the milk, mix it to get rid of lumps and heat up till dense. Take off the heat (if lumps formed, use stab mixer to remove them), add optional liquior and cool down. If you want your cream to be lighter, whip the full cream (just a little bit) and add to the first one.

To assemble the cornets you might use piping bag or simply teaspoon. Place the cream in the cone and voila!

Additional info:   You can also dip the ends of cornets in chocolate.

