Tags

, ,

I like sour cakes ;). This is why when I saw this beautiful rhubarb in the shop I did not hesitate at all and bought it so I could make some cake or tart with it.  I chose this recipe because I was interested in the combination of rhubarb and ginger. I am not totally convinced that this was a good relationship but the cake was nonetheless quite tasty (and sour ;)).

Ingredients:

180 g flour

1 tsp baking powder

½ tsp baking soda

200 g soft butter

160 g sugar

1 tbsp (full) of freshly ground ginger

3 beaten eggs

400 g rhubarb cut into 2 cm pieces

For crumble:

50 g butter

2 tsp ginger (powder)

50 g brown sugar

100 g flour

Coat with butter an Ø22-23 cm cake tin with removable bottom. Preheat the oven to 180°.

Prepare the crumble: on medium heat melt the butter, add ginger, sugar and in the end the flour, mix it well. Leave it aside.

Sieve the flour to the bowl; add baking powder and soda, butter in pieces, sugar, ginger and eggs. Mix it well only as long as the ingredients combine.

Pour the batter into the form, even the surface, arrange the rhubarb and cover it with crumble.

Bake till golden around 40-45 min. Cool down and sprinkle with icing sugar.

Additional info: To avoid the sourness, you might want to add more sugar to the crumble or switch it to the white one.

