Tags

, , , ,

I felt like having pierogi. Was a bit afraid that the filling will not match but it was really good. It tastes a little like a pie but in a form of pierogi. I found the recipe ages ago but did not write down the address so I will not share it here. Sorry. The dish is totally worth making. Enjoy!

Ingredients for 18 pieces:

for dough

400 g flour

200 g butter

2 tbsp 18% cream

1/2 tsp salt

1 egg

for filling

2 cans of tuna in water

1/2 chopped pepper

1 small onion chopped finely

2 tomatoes without seeds

4 dry tomatoes (I skipped those)

12 black olives cut into quaters (I skipped)

chilli pepper (I skipped)

handful of fresh basil leaves

250 g feta

salt, pepper, oregano, basil and lemon juice

additionally 1 egg and 1 tbsp water to brush the pierogi’s

Knead all the dough ingredients, cover it with cling film and refrigerate for 30 mins.

In a big bowl mix tuna, pepper, olives, onion, chilli, fresh tomatoes, dry tomatoes, chopped up basil and cheese in cubes. Add spices and lemon juce.

Take the dough out of the fridge and roll it till it’s 3 mm thick. Cut out circles (ø12 cm), put the filling on it, fold it in two and stick the edges properly.

Place the pierogi on a baking tray lined with a baking paper, brush with the egg and water (I also sprinkled mine with basil and oregano) and bake in a pre-heated to 180ºC oven for 30-40 minutes.

