Tags

, , , , , ,

I made this cake for my friend’s birthday and was afraid that it might not taste good. It did though! I think it took 5 minutes for it to disappear completely. Mix of figs, hazelnuts, chocolate and cranberries in sweet meringue and on top of that mix of mascarpone and Nutella with just a touch of alcohol made this cake unbelievably delicious. I will certainly prepare it again. Found it in the book of my guru but one can also find it on her blog. Enjoy!

Ps. I wish I could have taken a better picture.

Ingredients:

6 egg whites

¾ cup caster sugar

1 cup ground hazelnuts

50 g figs, chopped up

50 g dry cranberries

50 g milk chocolate, chopped up or grated

50 g dark chocolate, chopped up or grated

pinch of salt

Beat the egg white with salt until stiff. Add sugar in the end and beat some more. Gently fold in hazelnuts, cranberries, figs and grated chocolate.

Line the cake tin (Ø 23-24 cm) with baking paper and pour all the mass into it.

Bake at 170ºC for around 60 minutes. Cool it down.

Ingredients for the topping cream:

250 g mascarpone

6 tbsp nutella (I used 4)

2 tbsp Cointreau or other liquor (I used Bailey’s)

Mix all the ingredients. Spread it on top of the cake and decorate with chocolate.

