Tags

, , , , , , ,

I am a big fan of chocolate and cheesecakes so when I see something combining both I cannot resist and try to prepare it. I noticed this recipe on Majana’s blog and decided to try it out. To be completely honest I would enjoy it more if there would be less cocoa in it but other than that it was a nice cake.


Ingredients for the base:
1/2 cup grinded toasted hazelnuts
1 tbsp brown sugar
15 chocolate cookies (I used Digestive, one box of the Walkers series)
50 g of butter

Ingredients for cheese part:
1 tbsp  instant coffee
1 tbsp hot water
750 g cheese (I used a quark)
3/4 cup cocoa (I would reduce it to 1/2 cup or even less, for me the taste of the cocoa in this cake was a bit too strong)
3/4 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup white sugar
1/2 cup nutella
2 tbsp cornstarch
optionally 2 tbsp liquor (used amaretto) or rum aroma
1/2 tsp salt
3 large eggs (beaten just a little)

Preparation:
Heat the oven to 160 Celsius. Mix the nuts, grinded cookies, sugar and butter together. Push the mixture into bottom of the form (24 cm diameter) lined with alu foil (preferably double layer).  Bake it for 10 mins and cool it down.

Mix the cheese, add premixed coffee with hot water, cocoa, sugars, nutella, cornstarch, salt and eventually liquor until combined. After that add the eggs. Mix it again.

Pour the cheese mass onto prebaked base and bake for an hour.

Refrigerate for minimum 8 hours.